Fantasy, fiction, Read-alikes, Science Fiction

Authors to try if you enjoy books by David Weber

David_and_Sharon_Weber_at_CONduit_17.pngDavid Mark Weber (born October 24, 1952) is an American science fiction and fantasy author. He has written several science-fiction and fantasy books series, the best known of which is the Honor Harrington science-fiction series. His first novel, which he worked on with Steve White, sold in 1989 to Baen books. Baen remains Weber’s major publisher.


Try these books if you’re looking for:

  • Science Fiction

  • David Weber Read-alikes


bookcover (1)Lois McMaster Bujold

The sharing knife: 1 by Lois McMaster Bujold – With The Sharing Knife series, Bujold creates a brand new world fraught with peril, and spins an extraordinary romance between a young farm girl and the brave sorcerer-soldier entrusted with the defense of the land against a plague of vicious malevolent beings. Meet Fawn Bluefield and Dag Redwing Hickory in Beguilement, the first book in Bujold’s unforgettable four-volume fantasy saga, and witness the birth of their dangerous romance–a love threatened by prejudice and perilous magic, and by Dag’s sworn duty as Lakewalker patroller and necromancer.

bookcover (2).pngPaladin of souls by  Lois McMaster Bujold – Three years have passed since the widowed dowager Royina Ista found release from the curse of madness that kept her imprisoned in her family’s castle of Valenda. Yet her newfound freedom is bittersweet, and so the road-escape-beckons. As Ista and her little party of pilgrims wander at will, they are unexpectedly set upon, but a mysterious ally appears, a warrior nobleman who fights like a berserker.

bookcover (3)David Drake

Servant of the dragon by David Drake – A fantasy sequel to LORD OF THE ISLES and QUEEN OF DEMONS. The journeys of Cashel and Sharina, Garric and Ilna through the many kingdoms of the Isles continues as Sharina is snatched back through time by the spirit of a wizard.

The Fortress of Glass” begins the story of how the new kingdom of the Isles is finally brought into being by the group of heroes and heroines who have been central to all the books in the series. The group includes Prince Garric, heir to the throne of the Isles, his consort Liane, his sister Sharina, her herculean sweetheart Cashel, his sister Ilna, with her adopted child Merota and piratical Chalcus. On giant triremes filled with soldiers and diplomats, they journey to the small kingdoms of the Isles to confirm the succession of Garric and to subdue, if necessary, any local rulers too fond of their own kingship to pledge fealty to Garric. All this is being done in a time when the powers of magic in the Isles have flooded to a thousand-year peak, and even local magicians can perform powerful spells normally beyond their control. Fantastic forces from all angles try to keep them apart and unable to continue the reunification of the Isles. So separately and together, they must fight their way back to the same time and place to combat the mysterious and supernatural menace of The Green Woman in her Fortress of Glass.

bookcover (5)Tanya Huff

Valor’s trial: a Confederation novel by Tanya Huff – Gunnery Sergeant Torin Kerr is a Confederation Marine’s marine. She’s survived more deadly encounters–and kept more of her officers and enlistees alive–than anyone in the Corps. Unexpectedly pulled from battle, Torin finds herself in an underground POW camp that shouldn’t exist, where her fellow marine prisoners seem to have lost all will to escape.

 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.