Fantasy, fiction, Read-alikes, Science Fiction

Authors to try if you enjoy books by Terry Pratchett

Sir Terence David John Pratchett (28 April 1948 – 12 March 2015) was an English author of fantasy novels, especially comical works. He is best known for his ”Discworld” series of 41 novels.

Pratchett’s first novel, ”The Carpet People”, was published in 1971. The first ”Discworld” novel, ”The Colour of Magic”, was published in 1983, after which Pratchett wrote an average of two books a year. His 2011 ”Discworld” novel ”Snuff” became the third-fastest-selling hardback adult-readership novel since records began in the UK, selling 55,000 copies in the first three days. The final ”Discworld” novel, ”The Shepherd’s Crown”, was published in August 2015, five months after his death.

Pratchett, with more than 85 million books sold worldwide in 37 languages, was the UK’s best-selling author of the 1990s. He was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in 1998 and was knighted for services to literature in the 2009 New Year Honours. In 2001 he won the annual Carnegie Medal for ”The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents”, the first ”Discworld” book marketed for children. He received the World Fantasy Award for Life Achievement in 2010.

In December 2007, Pratchett announced that he had been diagnosed with early-onset Alzheimer’s disease. He later made a substantial public donation to the Alzheimer’s Research Trust (now Alzheimer’s Research UK), filmed a television programme chronicling his experiences with the condition for the BBC, and also became a patron for Alzheimer’s Research UK. Pratchett died on 12 March 2015 aged 66.


Try these books if you’re looking for:

  • Science Fiction

  • Terry Pratchett Read-alikes


bookcoverZH1GI36J.pngStormrider
By David Gemmell
Norwich/Otis Adult Science Fiction F GEMMELL
Spellbinding action and breathless adventure–these are the realms of David Gemmell. His mythic characters represent the ultimates in good and evil, and everything in between. Brilliant warriors, they are heartbreakingly human in their ability to love, sacrifice, and summon extraordinary courage when all seems lost.

bookcover 1
The hitchhiker’s guide to the galaxy: The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy Series, Book 1
By Douglas Adams
Norwich/Otis Adult Science Fiction Paperback PA A [Science Fiction]
After Earth is demolished to make way for a new hyperspatial expressway, Arthur Dent begins to hitch-hike through space.

bookcoverNeverwhere
By Neil Gaiman
Norwich/Otis Adult Science Fiction F Gaiman
Richard Mayhew, a young businessman, is going to find out more than enough about this other London. Under the streets of London there’s a place most people could never even dream of. A city of monsters and saints, murderers and angels, knights in armour and pale girls in black velvet.

To say nothing of the dog, or, How we found the bishop’s bird stump at last
By Connie Willis
Norwich/Otis Adult Science Fiction F Willis
Ned Henry goes back in time to 1889 to study the Coventry Cathedral for a wealthy American who wants to build an exact replica before it is destroyed.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.