Fantasy, fiction, Read-alikes, Science Fiction

Authors to try if you enjoy books by Robert Jordan

bookcover (10)Robert Jordan was born James Oliver Rigney Jr. on October 17, 1948 in Charleston, South Carolina. He received a B.S. in physics from The Citadel in 1974. He served two tours of duty in Vietnam with the U.S. Army and won The Distinguished Flying Cross, the Bronze Star and two Vietnamese Crosses of Gallantry. From 1974 to 1978, he worked for the U.S. Civil Service as a nuclear engineer.

During the 1980’s, he began writing several novels for the Conan the Barbarian series that was created in the 1930’s by Robert E. Howard. He also wrote under many pseudonyms, which include the historical novels The Fallon Blood (1980), The Fallon Pride (1981) and The Fallon Legacy (1982) as Reagan O’Neal; and the western Cheyenne Riders (1982) as Jackson O’Reilly. He wrote articles for periodicals for the Library Journal, Fantasy Review and Science Fiction Review as Chang Lung. He was the author of the Wheel of Time series and The Towers of Midnight.

He died on September 16, 2007 following a battle with cardiac amyloidosis. Jordan was cremated and his ashes buried in the churchyard of St. James Church in Goose Creek, outside Charleston.


Author Read-alikes


1. Terry Brooks

Terence Dean Brooks (born January 8, 1944) is an American writer of fantasy fiction. He writes mainly epic fantasy, and has also written two movie novelizations. He has written 23 ”New York Times” bestsellers during his writing career, and has over 21 million copies of his books in print. He is one of the biggest-selling living fantasy writers.

Terry Brooks is famous for his Shannara series, a post apocalyptic epic fantasy inspired by the Lord of the Rings trilogy. The series follows a multitude of characters across an interconnected timeline. The series starts with The Sword of Shannara, a tale about a young man given a mythical sword and a mission to defeat the Warlock Lord. He gets help from a druid and other characters as he gets caught up in a war of good against evil. The sequels The Elfstones of Shannara and The  Wishsong of Shannara are not continuations of the original book, but stories that take place further along the time line of world of Shannara. The Sword of Shannara is also the first fantasy book to grace the New York Times Best Seller list when it debuted in 1977. The world of Shannara has two prequel series, The Word and the Void, The Genesis of Shannara, and First King of Shannara. Terry Brooks is a good place to start reading fantasy books. His books are fast paced featuring a large cast of characters. Read the original trilogy first, then work your way around the various books in the long running world of Shannara. Terry Brooks also has a non-Shannara series, Landover, starting with the first book, Magic Kingdom for Sale: Sold!

Recommended titles –

51a+mbRsTsL._SX300_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgFirst king of Shannara – Horrified by the misuse of magic they had witnessed during the First War of the Races, the Druids at Paranor devoted themselves to the study of the old sciences, from the period before the collapse of civilization a thousand years before. Only the Bremen and a few trusted associates still studied the arcane arts. And for his persistence, Bremen found himself outcast, avoided by all but the few free-thinkers among the Druids.

bookcover (9)The gypsy morph – Eighty years into the future, the United States is a no-man’s-land: its landscape blighted by chemical warfare, pollution, and plague; its government collapsed; its citizens adrift, desperate, fighting to stay alive. In fortified compounds, survivors hold the line against wandering predators, rogue militias, and hideous mutations spawned from the toxic environment, while against them all stands an enemy neither mortal nor merciful: demons and their…


2. Tad Williams

Tad Williams is a California-based fantasy superstar. His genre-creating (and genre-busting) books have sold tens of millions worldwide, in twenty-five languages. His considerable output of epic fantasy and science fiction book-series, stories of all kinds, urban fantasy novels, comics, scripts, etc., have strongly influenced a generation of writers: the ‘Otherland’ epic relaunches June 2018 as an MMO on steam.com. Tad is currently immersed in the creation of ‘The Last King of Osten Ard’, planned as a trilogy with two intermediary novels. He, his family and his animals live in the Santa Cruz mountains in a suitably strange and beautiful house. @tadwilliams @mrstad

 Recommended titles –

bookcover (7).pngShadowrise – With King Olin imprisoned and Prince Kendrick slain, the royal twins Barrick and Briony have been forced to flee their homeland. But both families and nations can hide dark and terrible secrets, and even if Barrick and Briony survive learning the astonishing truths at the heart of their own family and of Southmarch itself, they must still find a way to reclaim their kingdom and rescue their home–from traitors, tyrants, a god-king, and even the angry…


3. Brandon Sanderson

Brandon Sanderson (born December 19, 1975) is an American fantasy and science fiction writer. He is best known for the Cosmere universe, in which most of his fantasy novels (most notably the ”Mistborn” series and ”The Stormlight Archive”) are set. He is also known for finishing Robert Jordan‘s epic fantasy series ”The Wheel of Time”.

Sanderson was raised in Lincoln, Nebraska before attending Brigham Young University, where he received degrees in English literature and creative writing. In 2008 Sanderson started a podcast with author Dan Wellsand cartoonist Howard Tayler called ”Writing Excuses”, involving topics about creating genre writing and webcomics.

In 2016, the American media company DMG Entertainment licensed the movie rights to Sanderson’s entire Cosmere universe.

He also created Sanderson’s Laws of Magic and popularised the terms hard magic and soft magic systems.

Recommended titles –

bookcover (6).pngThe Rithmatist: The Rithmatist Series, Book 1 – As Wild Chalklings threaten the American Isles and Rithmatists are humanity’s only defense, Joel can only watch as Rithmatist students learn the magical art that he would do anything to practice. More than anything, Joel wants to be a Rithmatist. Chosen by the Master in a mysterious inception ceremony, Rithmatists have the power to infuse life into two-dimensional figures known as Chalklings.

 

bookcover (8).pngThe Final Empire: Mistborn Series, Book 1 – For a thousand years the ash fell and no flowers bloomed. For a thousand years the Skaa slaved in misery and lived in fear. For a thousand years the Lord Ruler, the “Sliver of Infinity,” reigned with absolute power and ultimate terror, divinely invincible

 


4. Robin Hobb

Margaret Astrid Lindholm Ogden (born March 5, 1952), better known by her pen nameRobin Hobb and Megan Lindholm, is an American writer. She has written five series set in the Realm of the Elderlings, which started in 1995 with the publication of ”Assassin’s Apprentice” and ended with ”Assassin’s Fate” in 2017. Her books have sold over a million copies.

Recommended titles –

bookcover (5)Shaman’s crossing – Serving his king during a time of realm expansion, nobleman’s son Nevare Burvelle finds his promising career compromised by unexpected prejudice at the King’s Cavalry Academy and the discovery that he is being rendered a pawn by the magical plains folk.

 

bookcover (4)Dragon keeper – After many years, dragons have hatched again outside the ancient city of Cassarick. But something is wrong with the creatures; each is inferior or weak in some way, and many die. Tending these stunted dragons has left the people of the surrounding area weary. The Traders Council, the city’s leadership, fears that if the Rain Wilders stop providing for the young dragons, the hungry and neglected creatures will rampage and destroy Cassarick. To avert…


5. Kate Elliott

Kate Elliott is the pen name of Alis A. Rasmussen, who was born on July 27, 1958 in Iowa. She graduated from Mills College in Oakland, California, and went on to work for the BBC in London and at Keyboard Magazine in Cupertino, California before becoming a full time writer.

Her first book, The Labrynth Gate, was published in 1988. She wrote four novels under the name Alis A. Rasmussen before using the pen name Kate Elliott. Her other works include the Spiritwalker Trilogy, the Novels of Jaran series, the Crossroads Trilogy, the Crown of Stars series, and Court of Fives.

Recommended titles –

bookcover (2)Court of Fives – When a scheming lord tears Jess’s family apart, she must rely on her unlikely friendship with Kal, a high-ranking Patron boy, and her skill at Fives, an intricate, multi-level athletic competition that offers a chance for glory, to protect her Commoner mother and mixed-race sisters and save her father’s reputation.

 

bookcover (3).pngIn the ruins – The threatened cataclysm has occurred, and physical devastation vies with political disruption for Prince Sanglant’s attention as 6. he and Liath strive to bring back daylight and a new order to the chaos.

 

 


6. Steven Erikson

Steven Erikson (born October 7, 1959) is the pseudonym of Steve Rune Lundin, a Canadian novelist, who was educated and trained as both an archaeologist and anthropologist.

He is best-known for his ten-volume spanning epic fantasy series ”Malazan Book of the Fallen”, which began with the publication of ”Gardens of the Moon” (1999) and was completed with the publication of ”The Crippled God” (2011). By 2012 over 1 million copies of the series had been sold worldwide, and over 3 million copies by 2018. ”SF Site” has called the series “the most significant work of epic fantasy since Donaldson’s Chronicles of Thomas Covenant,” and ”Fantasy Book Review” described it as “the best fantasy series of recent times.” Fellow author Glen Cook has called the series a masterwork, while Stephen R. Donaldson has praised him for his approach to the fantasy genre and has compared him to the likes of Joseph ConradHenry JamesWilliam Faulkner, and Fyodor Dostoevsky.

Set in the Malazan world, Erikson has written a prequel trilogy, ”The Kharkanas Trilogy”, six novellas, and is currently working on a sequel trilogy, ”The Witness Trilogy”, the first book of which, titled ”The God is Not Willing”, is expected to be published in 2019.

His foray into ”Science Fiction” has produced a comedic trilogy, the ”Willful Child Trilogy”, a spoof on ”Star Trek” and other tropes common in the genre, and a First Contact novel titled ”Rejoice, a Knife To the Heart”, published in 2018.

Recommended titles –

bookcover (1).pngDeadhouse gates – Preparing for a long-prophesied uprising in the Holy Desert Raraku, seer Sha’ik and her followers anticipate the Malazan Empire’s most violent conflict, which they believe will shape destinies and give rise to legendary figures.

 


7. Terry Goodkind

Terry Goodkind (born May 1, 1948) is an American writer. He is known for the epic fantasy series ”The Sword of Truth” as well as the contemporary suspense novel ”The Law of Nines” (2009), which has ties to his fantasy series. ”The Sword of Truth” series sold 25 million copies worldwide and was translated into more than 20 languages. Additionally, it was adapted into a television series called ”Legend of the Seeker”, which premiered on November 1, 2008 and ran for two seasons, ending in May 2010.

Goodkind is a proponent of Ayn Rand‘s philosophical approach of Objectivism, and makes references to Rand’s ideas and novels in his works.

Recommended titles –

bookcover.pngThe law of nines – Turning twenty-seven may be terrifying for some, but for Alex, a struggling artist living in the midwestern United States, it is cataclysmic. Inheriting a huge expanse of land should have made him a rich and happy man; but something about this birthday, his name, and the beautiful woman whose life he just saved, has suddenly made him–and everyone he loves–into a target–target for extreme and uncompromising violence.


8. Margaret Weis

Margaret Edith Weis (; born March 16, 1948) is a fantasy and science fiction writer and author of dozens of novels and short stories. Along with Tracy Hickman, Weis is one of the original creators of the ”Dragonlance” game world.

Recommended titles –  

bc1.jpgThe dragon’s son – In Mistress of Dragons we were introduced to a world where political deception, greed, and avarice have lead to a violation of the “hands off” policy of the Parliament of Dragons concerning the affairs of men. Indeed that violation threatens more than policy and order it threatens the peaceful existence of the human race.Man’s only hope and his greatest threat is The Dragon’s Son Twins born out of violence and raised apart.Ven (short for Vengeance) is raised in seclusion under the watchful eye of his deceased mother’s Amazonian lover. He is a child whose appearance belies his heritage – half-man/ half-dragon.Marcus is raised in a court, and given all of the protections and breeding that would entail. He appears to be completely human, yet his psychic link with the brother he has never known betrays the dragon magic that lies within him.It is up to the dragon emissary who passes himself off as a man, Draconas, to protect them both before the internecine struggle destroys the Parliament of Dragons and brings an oppressive reign of fire down upon all mortal men.


9.  J.R.R. Tolkien 

John Ronald Reuel Tolkien, (; 3 January 1892 – 2 September 1973) was an English writer, poet, philologist, and university professor who is best known as the author of the classic high fantasy works ”The Hobbit”, ”The Lord of the Rings”, and ”The Silmarillion”.

He served as the Rawlinson and Bosworth Professor of Anglo-Saxon and Fellow of Pembroke College, Oxford, from 1925 to 1945 and Merton Professor of English Language and Literature and Fellow of Merton College, Oxford, from 1945 to 1959. He was at one time a close friend of C. S. Lewis—they were both members of the informal literary discussion group known as the Inklings. Tolkien was appointed a Commander of the Order of the British Empire by Queen Elizabeth II on 28 March 1972.

After Tolkien’s death, his son Christopher published a series of works based on his father’s extensive notes and unpublished manuscripts, including ”The Silmarillion”. These, together with ”The Hobbit” and ”The Lord of the Rings”, form a connected body of tales, poems, fictional histories, invented languages, and literary essays about a fantasy world called Arda and Middle-earth within it. Between 1951 and 1955, Tolkien applied the term ”legendarium” to the larger part of these writings.

While many other authors had published works of fantasy before Tolkien, the great success of ”The Hobbit” and ”The Lord of the Rings” led directly to a popular resurgence of the genre. This has caused Tolkien to be popularly identified as the “father” of modern fantasy literature—or, more precisely, of high fantasy. In 2008, ”The Times” ranked him sixth on a list of “The 50 greatest British writers since 1945″. ”Forbes” ranked him the 5th top-earning “dead celebrity” in 2009.

Recommended titles –  

bookcover (11)The lord of the rings– A one-volume edition of the trilogy which tells of the quest undertaken by the hobbit Frodo and his companions to journey across Middle-earth and cast the evil One Ring, into the Cracks of Doom. Includes fifty specially commissioned paintings by Alan Lee.

 

 

bookcover (12).pngThe fall of Gondolin – “In the Tale of The Fall of Gondolin are two of the greatest powers in the world. There is Morgoth of the uttermost evil, unseen in this story but ruling over a vast military power from his fortress of Angband. Deeply opposed to Morgoth is Ulmo, second in might only to Manw,͡ chief of the Valar: he is called the Lord of Waters, of all seas, lakes, and rivers under the sky. But he works in secret in Middle-earth to support the Noldor, the kindred…


 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.