Fantasy, fiction, historical fiction, History, Read-alikes, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Authors to try if you love books by Orson Scott Card

pexels-photo-1471294

Orson Scott Card

bookcover (4)Orson Scott Byron Walley Card, was born in 1951 and studied theater at Brigham Young University. He received his B.A. in 1975 and his M.A. in English in 1981. He wrote plays during that time, including Stone Tables (1973) and the musical, Father, Mother, Mother and Mom (1974).

A Mormon, Scott served a two-year mission in Brazil before starting work as a journalist in Utah. He also designed games at Lucas Film Games, 1989-92. He is best known for his science fiction novels, including the popular Ender series. Well known titles include A Planet Called Treason (1979), Treasure Box (1996), and Heartfire (1998). He has also written the guide called How to Write Science Fiction and Fantasy (1990).

His novel Ender’s Game and its sequel Speaker for the Dead, both won Hugo and Nebula awards, making Card the only author to win both prizes in consecutive years. His titles Shadows in Flight, Ruins and Ender’s Game made The New York Times Best Seller List. He is also the author of The First Formic War Series, which includes the titles Earth Unaware, Earth Afire, and Earth Awakens. (Bowker Author Biography)

Major Appeals: 
World-building, thought-provoking, dramatic, science fiction, historical fiction, bible novel, character driven, inspirational, heartwarming
Writing Profile: 
Known for Ender’s Game, Orson Scott Card’s work spans multiple genres. His books share many common themes such as family, duty, sacrifice, and the battle between good and evil. Many of the characters in Card’s books are children who have to deal with moral and ethical issues. Card brings his ability to create very relatable, real characters and breathes life and new insight into inspiring women from the Old Testament. His attention to detail and historical accuracy make these books an inviting and interesting place to spend some time.


If you love books by Orson Scott Card, then give the following authors a try!


bookcoverAuthor: George R.R. Martin

George Raymond Richard Martin (born George Raymond Martin; September 20, 1948), also known as GRRM, is an American novelist and short story writer in the fantasyhorror, and science fiction genres, screenwriter, and television producer. He is best known for his series of epic fantasy novels, ”A Song of Ice and Fire”, which was adapted into the HBO series ”Game of Thrones” (2011–present).

In 2005, Lev Grossman of ”Time” called Martin “the American Tolkien“, and in 2011, he was included on the annual ”Time” 100 list of the most influential people in the world.

Read-a-like Title(s): A Game of Thrones; A Clash of Kings

Corresponding Appeals: Science fiction, world-building, dramatic, thought-provoking

Writing Profile: George R.R. Martin creates evolving, dark worlds that exist as settings for his character-driven stories. Common themes in his novels are intrigue, nobility, and betrayal. His style of writing is described as compelling, gritty, and richly detailed.


bookcover (1).pngAuthor: Garth Nix

Garth Richard Nix (born 19 July 1963) is an Australian writer who specialises in children’s and young adult fantasy novels, notably the ”Old Kingdom”, ”Seventh Tower” and ”Keys to the Kingdom” series. He has frequently been asked if his name is a pseudonym, to which he has responded, “I guess people ask me because it sounds like the perfect name for a writer of fantasy. However, it is my real name.”

Read-a-like Title(s): Confusion of Princes

Corresponding Appeals: World-building, science fiction

Writing Profile: While Garth Nix is known for his series for young adults, his works include intricate world building and characters that anyone can appreciate. His writing is attention-grabbing, compelling, and descriptive, and it is those qualities that move his stories along.


bookcover (2)Author: S. J. Kincaid

Read-a-like Title(s): Insignia; Vortex

Corresponding Appeals: Science fiction, world-building, thought-provoking, fast-paced.

Writing Profile: S. J. Kincaid is fast becoming known for writing high-octane science fiction for young adults. Her debut novel, Insignia, is about a 14-year-old gamer who is selected to fight World War III as a Combatant who controls mechanized drones off-planet (which makes it a pitch-perfect read-a-like for Card’s Ender’s Game). Kincaid’s fast-paced style blends well with her magnificent world-building, making her futuristic vision of the United States not only immersive, but also terrifying. Like Card, Kincaid’s storytelling has a milieu of morality, which adds depth and breadth to her writing.


bookcover (3).pngAuthor: Ernest Cline

Ernest Christy Cline (born March 29, 1972) is an American novelist, slam poet, and screenwriter. He is known for his novels ”Ready Player One” and ”Armada”; he also co-wrote the screenplay for the film adaptation of ”Ready Player One”, directed by Steven Spielberg.

Read-a-like Title(s): Ready Player One; Armada

Corresponding Appeals: Science fiction, plot-driven, world-building, thought-provoking.

Writing Profile: Ernest Cline, winner of the Alex Award, writes quirky, dystopian science fiction that includes lots of humor and an avalanche of pop culture references. Although the world may be crumbling, Cline shines as he keeps his tone light, witty, and bantering. Cline’s main characters, young adult gamers, are perfectly rendered and absolutely charming. His adult characters, conversely, are usually generic bad guys or greedy businessmen. Like the best video games, Cline keeps up a frantic pace, scarcely allowing his protagonists a chance to catch their breath.


bookcover (5).pngAuthor: Cory Doctorow

Cory Efram Doctorow (; born July 17, 1971) is a Canadian-British blogger, journalist, and science fiction author who serves as co-editor of the blog ”Boing Boing”. He is an activist in favour of liberalising copyright laws and a proponent of the Creative Commons organization, using some of their licenses for his books. Some common themes of his work include digital rights managementfile sharing, and post-scarcity economics.

Read-a-like Title(s): Little Brother; For the Win

Corresponding Appeals: Science fiction, thought-provoking, fast-paced.

Writing Profile: Having already achieved both Hugo and Nebula Award nominations, Canadian author Cory Doctorow has established himself as a serious contender in science fiction circles. Drawing on his high-profile background in blogging and copyright reform, Doctorow infuses his novels and short stories with utterly convincing themes of technology and society. With engaging characters, a subtle sense of humor, and a knack for lively pacing, Doctorow offers thought-provoking speculations upon the present and the near-future. His compelling novels for teens feature computer-savvy teens who often resist authority.


bookcover (6)Author: Margaret George

Margaret George lives with her husband in Madison, Wisconsin.

Read-alike Title(s): Mary, Called Magdalene

Corresponding Appeals: Bible novel, reflective, historical fiction

Writing Profile: Margaret George is considered one of the preeminent writers of fictional autobiography, and in this book she turns her attention to one of the most mysterious and enigmatic women of the Bible, Mary Magdalene. George relies on historical accounts to create a back-story and emotional landscape for Mary.


bookcover (7)Author: Anita Diamant

Anita Diamant (born June 27, 1951) is an American author of fiction and non-fiction books. She has published five novels, the most recent of which is ”The Boston Girl”, a ”New York Times” best seller. She is best known for her 1997 novel ”The Red Tent”, which eventually became a best seller and book club favorite. She has also written six guides to contemporary Jewish practice, including ”The New Jewish Wedding,” ”Living a Jewish Life,” and ”The New Jewish Baby Book”, as well as a collection of personal essays, ”Pitching My Tent”.

Read-alike Title(s): The Red Tent

Corresponding Appeals: Bible novel, historical fiction, character-driven, strong sense of place

Writing Profile: Diamant is one of the foremost voices in Jewish literature featuring strong female characters. Her style is deeply spiritual and character-driven, inviting the reader to be immersed in the world she creates. In The Red Tent she tells the story of Dinah, the Old Testament character who is left a pregnant widow when her brother kills her one true love.


bookcover (8)Author: T. Davis Bunn and Janette Oke

Davis Bunn is pseudonym used by T. Davis Bunn. Bunn was born in 1952 in North Carolina. He had a finance career that took him around the globe until his first novel, The Presence, was released in 1990. The book became a national bestseller. He has written under the names of Davis Bunn as well as Thomas Locke and Cameron Wolfe.

Bunn is a much sought-after speaker for the art of writing and he serves as a Writer in Residence at Regent’s Park College, Oxford University. (Bowker Author Biography)

Janette Oke (pronounced “oak”) was born in Champion, Alberta, Canada, during the depression years. She graduated from Mountain View Bible College in Didsbury, Alberta where she met her husband, Edward. She and Edward married in 1957 and went on to serve churches in Calgary and Edmonton, Canada, and Indiana.

Oke published her first book, Love Comes Softly, in 1979. The book experienced immediate success because works of fiction were a virtually unknown genre in the Christian publishing industry. Oke has gone on to publish some 36 romance novels, earning her the 1992 President’s Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association. She is the author of the “Love Comes Softly” and the “Prairie Legacy” series of books.

Oke enjoys a large reading audience primarily comprised of teenagers, homemakers and working women. She recently started writing for young children. (Bowker Author Biography)

Read-alike Title(s): The Centurion’s Wife; The Hidden Flame; The Damascus Way

Corresponding Appeals: Bible novels, christian historical fiction, character-driven, heartwarming, moving

Writing Profile: Bunn and Oke partnered to write the Acts of Faith series, which tell the stories of women in the ancient world just following the time of Christ’s crucifixion. Their attention to detail and strong characters creates a world rich with political strife, a new faith, and strong characters.


More Information on Orson Scott Card

Orson Scott Card – IMDb

Orson Scott Card – • The Ornery AmericanPolitics and world view. • Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine ShowOnline sf/fantasy magazine. • Hatrack RiverThe official website …

 

 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.