Fantasy, fiction, Science Fiction

Authors to Read if You Love Terry Brooks

Terry Brooks

bookcoverTerence Dean Brooks (born January 8, 1944) is an American writer of fantasy fiction. He writes mainly epic fantasy, and has also written two movie novelizations. He has written 23 ”New York Times” bestsellers during his writing career, and has over 21 million copies of his books in print. He is one of the biggest-selling living fantasy writers.

Terry Brooks is famous for his Shannara series, a post apocalyptic epic fantasy inspired by the Lord of the Rings trilogy. The series follows a multitude of characters across an interconnected timeline. The series starts with The Sword of Shannara, a tale about a young man given a mythical sword and a mission to defeat the Warlock Lord. He gets help from a druid and other characters as he gets caught up in a war of good against evil. The sequels The Elfstones of Shannara and The  Wishsong of Shannara are not continuations of the original book, but stories that take place further along the time line of world of Shannara. The Sword of Shannara is also the first fantasy book to grace the New York Times Best Seller list when it debuted in 1977. The world of Shannara has two prequel series, The Word and the Void, The Genesis of Shannara, and First King of Shannara. Terry Brooks is a good place to start reading fantasy books. His books are fast paced featuring a large cast of characters. Read the original trilogy first, then work your way around the various books in the long running world of Shannara. Terry Brooks also has a non-Shannara series, Landover, starting with the first book, Magic Kingdom for Sale: Sold!


bookcover7W1C0RMHRead Alike—George R. R. Martin – 

George Raymond Richard Martin (born George Raymond Martin; September 20, 1948), also known as GRRM, is an American novelist and short story writer in the fantasy, horror, and science fiction genres, screenwriter, and television producer. He is best known for his series of epic fantasy novels, ”A Song of Ice and Fire”, which was adapted into the HBO series ”Game of Thrones” (2011–present).

In 2005, Lev Grossman of ”Time” called Martin “the American Tolkien“, and in 2011, he was included on the annual ”Time” 100 list of the most influential people in the world.


bookcoverYBO57FZPRead Alike—Robert Jordan – 

Robert Jordan was born James Oliver Rigney Jr. on October 17, 1948 in Charleston, South Carolina. He received a B.S. in physics from The Citadel in 1974. He served two tours of duty in Vietnam with the U.S. Army and won The Distinguished Flying Cross, the Bronze Star and two Vietnamese Crosses of Gallantry. From 1974 to 1978, he worked for the U.S. Civil Service as a nuclear engineer.

During the 1980’s, he began writing several novels for the Conan the Barbarian series that was created in the 1930’s by Robert E. Howard. He also wrote under many pseudonyms, which include the historical novels The Fallon Blood (1980), The Fallon Pride (1981) and The Fallon Legacy (1982) as Reagan O’Neal; and the western Cheyenne Riders (1982) as Jackson O’Reilly. He wrote articles for periodicals for the Library Journal, Fantasy Review and Science Fiction Review as Chang Lung. He was the author of the Wheel of Time series and The Towers of Midnight.

He died on September 16, 2007 following a battle with cardiac amyloidosis. Jordan was cremated and his ashes buried in the churchyard of St. James Church in Goose Creek, outside Charleston.


bookcover88PWTAU9.pngRead Alike—R. A. Salvatore – 

R. A. Salvatore was born in Leominster, Massachusetts on January 20, 1959. He received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Communications and a Bachelor of Arts Degree in English from Fitchburg State College in Fitchburg, Massachusetts.

He began writing seriously in 1982 and became a full-time writer in 1990. His first novel, The Crystal Shard, was published in 1988. His other works include The Halfling’s Gem; Sojourn; The Legacy; Starless Night; Vector Prime; and The Two Swords. He is also the author of numerous series including The Dark Elf Trilogy; Paths of Darkness; The Hunter’s Blades Trilogy; The Cleric Quintet; Saga of the First King; Neverwinter Saga and The Sundering. He made The New York Times Best Seller List with his title’s Charon’s Claw, Night of the Hunter: Companions Codex, 1, Rise of the King and Vengeance of the Iron Dwarf.


bookcoverGJKKI3P0Read Alike—Brandon Sanderson – 

Brandon Sanderson was born on December 19, 1975 in Lincoln, Nebraska. He received a bachelor’s degree in English and a master’s degree in creative writing from Brigham Young University. His first book, Elantris, was published in 2005. His other works include the Mistborn series, the Stormlight Archive series, Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians series, and the Reckoners series. In 2007, he was chosen by Harriet Rigney to complete A Memory of Light, book twelve in Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series. He has continued the series with Towers of Midnight and A Memory of Light. In 2018 his title, White Sand Volume 2, made the Best Seller List.


 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.