fiction, historical fiction, Mystery, Read-alikes

Deanna Raybourn Read-alikes

Deanna Raybourn (born June 17, 1968) is an American author of historical fiction and historical mysteries. Raybourn was born in Fort WorthTexas, but now lives in WilliamsburgVirginia. She graduated from the University of Texas at San Antonio where she majored in English and History.

Her first published novelSilent in the Grave, was nominated for the Agatha Award for best new mystery of 2007.[2] Set in Victorian era England, the acclaimed series[1] has been optioned as a UK television series by Free@Last TV.

If you enjoy reading books by Deanna Raybourn, then give these authors a try!


 

Anna Lee Huber

bookcoverThe Anatomist’s Wife: Lady Darby Mystery Series, Book 1 – “A riveting debut…an original premise, an enigmatic heroine, and a compelling Highland setting…a book you won’t want to put down.”—Following the death of her husband, Lady Darby has taken refuge at her sister’s estate, finding solace in her passion for painting. But when her hosts throw a house party for the cream of…

 

bookcover (1)This side of murder: a Verity Kent mystery – “England, 1919. The Great War is over, but Verity Kent, a young widow, discovers the real intrigue has only just begun when she receives a cryptic letter, suggesting her beloved husband may have committed treason before his untimely death, and sets out to discover the truth”–

 

 


Ashley Weaver

bookcover (2)Death wears a mask – “Amory Ames is looking forward to a tranquil period of reconnecting with reformed playboy husband Milo after an unexpected reconciliation following the murderous events at the Brightwell Hotel. Amory hopes a quiet stay at their London flat will help mend their dysfunctional relationship. However, she soon finds herself drawn into another investigation when Serena Barrington asks her to look into the disappearance of valuable jewelry snatched at a…

bookcover (3)The essence of malice: a mystery – When Amory Ames?s husband Milo receives a troubling letter from his childhood nanny, Madame Nanette, the couple travel to Paris where they become embroiled in a mystery surrounding the death of a famous parfumier. Helios Belanger died suddenly, shortly before the release of his new, highly anticipated perfume, and Madame Nanette, who works for his family, is convinced that her employer?s death was not due to natural causes. The more Amory and Milo…


Sherry Thomas

bookcover (4)A study in scarlet women: Lady Sherlock Series, Book 1 – “USA Today bestselling author Sherry Thomas turns the story of the renowned Sherlock Holmes upside down… With her inquisitive mind, Charlotte Holmes has never felt comfortable with the demureness expected of the fairer sex in upper class society. But she never thought that she would become a social pariah, an outcast fending for herself on the mean streets of London. When the city is struck by a trio of unexpected deaths and suspicion falls on her…

bookcover (5)Private arrangements – To all of London society, Lord and Lady Tremaine had the perfect marriage, but for the last ten years, husband and wife have resided on separate continents. When Lady Tremaine wishes to marry another, Lord Tremaine agrees to the divorce on one condition: if she will give him an heir before the year is over.

 


Beatriz Williams

bookcover (6)The summer wives: A Novel –  New York Times bestselling author Beatriz Williams brings us the blockbuster novel of the season–an electrifying postwar fable of love, class, power, and redemption set among the inhabitants of an island off the New England coast . . .In the summer of 1951, Miranda Schuyler arrives on elite, secretive Winthrop Island as a schoolgirl from the margins of high society, still reeling from the loss of her father in the Second World War. When her beautiful…

bookcover (7)A hundred summers – “Lily Dane has returned to Seaview, Rhode Island, where her family has summered for generations. It?s an escape not only from New York?s social scene but from a heartbreak that still haunts her. Here, among the seaside community that has embraced her since childhood, she finds comfort in the familiar rituals of summer. But this summer is different. Budgie and Nick Greenwald?Lily?s former best friend and former fianc?̌have arrived, too, and Seaview?s…


Tasha Alexander

bookcover (8)And only to deceive – For Emily, accepting the proposal of Philip, the Viscount Ashton, was an easy way to escape her overbearing mother, who was set on a grand society match. So when Emily’s dashing husband died on safari soon after their wedding, she felt little grief. After all, she barely knew him. Now, nearly two years later, she discovers that Philip was a far different man from the one she had married so cavalierly. His journals reveal him to have been a gentleman…

bookcover (9)Tears of pearl: a novel of suspense – Set amid the beauty and decadence of the Ottoman Empire, Lady Emily? latest adventure is full of intrigue, treachery, and romance. Looking forward to the joys of connubial bliss, newlyweds Lady Emily and Colin Hargreaves, diplomats of the British Empire, set out toward Turkey for an exotic honeymoon. But on their first night in the city, a harem girl is found murdered, strangled in the courtyard of the sultan? lavish Yildiz Palace. Sir Richard St….


 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.