Read-alikes

Elin Hilderbrand Author Read-alikes

If you enjoy reading books by Elin Hilderbrand try these authors.


Jane Green

bookcoverThe beach house: A Novel – Ever since her life took an unexpected turn, Nan Powell has enjoyed living alone on the sun-drenched shores of Nantucket. At sixty-five, she’s just as likely to be found at Windermere, her beach front home, as she is skinny dipping in her neighbor’s pool. But when the money she thought would…

 

bookcover 1The sunshine sisters – “The New York Times bestselling author of Falling presents a warm, wise, and wonderfully vivid novel about a mother who asks her three estranged daughters to come home to help her end her life. Ronni Sunshine left London for Hollywood to become a beautiful, charismatic star of the silver screen. But at home, she was a narcissistic, disinterested mother who alienated her three daughters. As soon as possible, tomboy Nell fled her mother’s overbearing…

 


Mary Kay Andrews

weekendersWeekenders; a novel: A Novel – “Some people stay all summer long on the idyllic island of Belle Isle, North Carolina. Some people come only for the weekends-and it’s something they look forward to all week long. When Riley Griggs is waiting for her husband to arrive at the ferry one Friday afternoon, she is instead served with papers informing her that her island home is being foreclosed. To make matters worse, her husband is nowhere to be found. She turns to her island friends…

 

bookcoverEB8JOII8Summer rental: a novel – Ellis, Julia, and Dorie. Best friends since Catholic grade school, they now find themselves in their mid-thirties, at the crossroads of life and love. Ellis, recently fired from her job, begins to question the choices she?s made over the past decade. Julia has a man who loves her and is offering her the world, but she can no longer hide her deepest insecurities. And Dorie has just been shockingly betrayed by the man she loved and trusted the most….

 


Wendy Wax

tbrTen Beach Road: Beach Series, Book 1 – Madeline, Avery, and Nikki are strangers to each other, but they have one thing in common. They each wake up one morning to discover that their life savings have vanished along with their trusted financial manager—leaving them with nothing but co-ownership of a ramshackle beachfront house.

 

wendy waxA week at the lake – “From the USA Today bestselling author of The House on Mermaid Point comes a powerful novel about secrets, loyalty, and the bonds of true friendship. Twenty years ago, Emma Michaels, Mackenzie Hayes, and Serena Stockton bonded over their New York City dreams. Then, each summer, they solidified their friendship by spending one week at the lake together, solving their problems over bottles of wine and gallons of ice cream. They kept the tradition for…

 


Luanne Rice

 tlbThe silver boat: A Novel – From the beloved New York Times bestselling Luanne Rice comes a heartwarming yet heart-wrenching portrait of three far-flung sisters who come home to Martha’s Vineyard one last time. Their mother’s beach house is the only place any of them ever found true happiness and they need to begin the difficult process of letting go. Memories of their grandmother,…

 

wmmWhat matters most: a novel – After a life-changing journey to Ireland with Tom Kelly, Bernadette Sullivan finds refuge within the cloistered walls of a convent, but years later their past returns to haunt them, and they journey across the sea to find the son they had given up for adoption.

 

 


Jane Porter

omo.pngOdd mom out – “Jane Porter returns with another entertaining tale of a bohemian, single working mother who finds herself at odds with the stay-at-home, alpha moms”–Provided by publisher.

 

 

fpThe frog prince – “The story of a woman who must start a new life as an event planner in San Francisco after her fairy tale marriage falls apart”–

 

 


Dorothea Benton Frank

plPorch lights: a novel – When Jimmy McMullen, a fireman with the NYFD, is killed in the line of duty, his wife, Jackie, and ten-year-old son, Charlie, are devastated. Charlie idolized his dad, and now the outgoing, curious boy has become quiet and reserved. Trusting in the healing power of family, Jackie decides to return to her childhood home on Sullivans Island. Crossing the bridge from the mainland, Jackie and Charlie enter a world full of wonder and magic–lush green…

thsThe hurricane sisters: a novel – “Best friends since the first day of classes at The College of Charleston, Ashley Anne Waters and Mary Beth Smythe, now 23 years old, live in Ashley’s parents’ beach house rent-free. Ashley is a gallery assistant who aspires to become an artist. Mary Beth, a gifted cook from Tennessee, works for a caterer while searching for a good teaching job. Though they both know what they want out of life, their parents barely support their dreams and worry for…


Nancy Thayer

sos.pngSecrets in summer: a novel – “Memorial Day weekend means that seasonal visitors have descended on the glamorous island of Nantucket. For year-round resident Darcy Cotterill, it means late-night stargazing in the backyard of the beautiful house she grew up in and inherited from her beloved grandmother. It’s also Darcy’s chance to hit the beach and meet her new summertime neighbors. But the last person the thirty-year-old librarian expects to see staying next door is her ex-husband,…

 

tihThe island house: A Novel – “Every summer since college, twenty-nine-year-old Courtney has traded the familiarity of the Midwest for the allure of Nantucket. Now an established university professor, she finds herself caught between two lifestyles and two very different men. This summer has taken an unexpected turn and now she must decide what she really wants”–


Kristin Hannah

tgaThe great alone: A Novel – Lenora Allbright is 13 when her father convinces her mother, Cora, to forgo their inauspicious existence in Seattle and move to Kaneq, Alaska. It’s 1974, and the former Vietnam POW sees a better future away from the noise and nightmares that plague him. Having been left a homestead by a buddy who died in the war, Ernt is secure in his beliefs, but never was a family less prepared for the reality of Alaska, the long, cold winters and isolation. Locals…

 

hfHome front: a novel – “From a distance, Michael and Joleen Zarkades seem to have it all: a solid marriage, two exciting careers, and children they adore. But after twelve years together, the couple has lost their way; they are unhappy and edging toward divorce. Then the Iraq war starts. An unexpected deployment will tear their already fragile family apart, sending one of them deep into harm’s way and leaving the other at home, waiting for news. When the worst happens,…


Claire Cook

bsp.pngBest staged plans – A professional home stager in the Boston suburbs, Sandy Sullivan, after reading her family the riot act, takes a job staging a boutique hotel in Atlanta where she becomes immersed in other people’s lives while trying to fix up her own.

 

mcMultiple choice: a novel – There was a time when March Monroe thought she and her daughter, Olivia, would never really cut the cord. Now, Olivia is off to college, and March is secretly doing the same thing. It’s a high-voltage shock when they run into each other as student interns at the local radio station.

 


 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.