fiction, Libraries, Mystery, Read-alikes

Authors to read if you love Nelson DeMille

Nelson Richard DeMille is an American author of action adventure and suspense novels. His novels include Plum Island, The Charm School, and The Gold Coast. DeMille has also written under the pen names Jack Cannon, Kurt Ladner, Ellen Kay and Brad Matthews. Looking for books similar to DeMille? Try out these authors and see if you can find a new favorite!

Click on book titles to view in our catalog, place holds, read reviews, and to determine location within the library. 


Steve Martini

bookcover.pngThe arraignment – Martini crafts yet another legal nail-biter featuring perennial favorite attorney Paul Madriani. After a lawyer friend is killed along with his client in a hail of gunfire outside the federal courthouse in San Diego, Madriani takes on another client who he believes is involved at the edges of the double murder. He takes the case not to defend the man, but to find out who killed his friend and why. Madriani is tortured by questions of conflict, his…

bookcover (1)Double tap – Attorney Paul Madriani defends a soldier on trial for murder and unwittingly steps into a maze of secrets and lies that the government — and even his client — would rather leave undisturbed. Madriani is faced with arcane ballistics evidence, a so-called “double tap” — two bullet wounds tightly grouped to a victim’s head, shots that can only be made by a crack marksman. Madriani’s client is an enigma, a career soldier who refuses to talk about his…


Richard North Patterson

bookcover (3).pngEden in winter: a novel – “Two months after the suspicious and much-publicized death of his father on the island of Martha’s Vineyard, it is taking all of Adam Blaine’s will to suture the deep wounds the tragedy has inflicted upon his family and himself. As the court inquest into Benjamin Blaine’s death casts suspicions on those closest to him, Adam struggles to protect them from those who still suspect that his father was murdered by one of his kin. But the sternest test…

bookcover (2)Loss of innocence – A family drama of dark secrets and individual awakenings is set against the backdrop of the turbulent summer of 1968 in Martha’s Vineyard, where twenty-two-year-old Whitney Dane begins questioning her goals and sense of independence at the side of a fiercely ambitious, underprivileged man.


Brian Haig

bookcover (4)Man in the middle – Dispatched to investigate the suicide of one of DCs most influential defense officials, an ardent, early supporter of the war in Iraq, Army lawyer Sean Drummond and his female partner find themselves in the middle of a tug-of-war between Washington’s most influential power brokers and his own personal allegiance to the soldiers dying overseas. What he uncovers are the secrets that led to the war, secrets that once exposed would destroy public support…

bookcover (5)The kingmaker – “Listen, Drummond, your client betrayed this country in ways too horrible to contemplate…” In the history of espionage, there’s never been one like him. But Major Sean Drummond never says die. Especially when an old flame begs him to defend her brigadier general husband in the biggest treason case in U.S. history. And even when Drummond is up against the fiercest prosecutor in the Army and fighting two murder charges. With an unconventional and…


Daniel Silva

bookcover (7).pngHouse of spies: A Novel – Four months after the deadliest attack on the American homeland since 9/11, terrorists leave a trail of carnage through London’s glittering West End. The attack is a brilliant feat of planning and secrecy, but with one loose thread. The thread leads Gabriel Allon and his team of operatives to the south of France and to the gilded doorstep of Jean-Luc Martel and Olivia Watson. A beautiful former British fashion model, Olivia pretends not to know that…

bookcover (6).pngThe other woman: A Novel – Gabriel Allon, the art restorer, spy, and assassin is poised to become the chief of Israel’s secret intelligence service. But on the eve of his promotion, events conspire to lure him into the field for one final operation. ISIS has detonated a massive bomb in the Marais district of Paris, and a desperate French government wants Gabriel to eliminate the man responsible before he can strike again.


Scott Turow

bookcover (9).pngTestimony – “In the bestselling tradition of Presumed Innocent–the 1987 debut novel that made him “one of the major writers in America” (NPR)–comes what may be Scott Turow’s best thriller yet … Bill ten Boom has walked out on everything he thought was important to him: his career, his wife, Kindle County, even his country. Still, when he is tapped to examine the disappearance of an entire Gypsy refugee camp–unsolved for ten years–he feels drawn to what…

bookcover (8)Presumed innocent – Rusty Sabich, a prosecuting attorney investigating the murder of Carolyn Polhemus, his former lover and a prominent member of his boss’s staff, finds himself accused of the crime. Rusty Sabich is an up-and-comer in the county prosecutor’s office. He’s intelligent, hard working, dependable. And, just maybe, he’s also a murderer.


David Stone

bookcover (11).pngThe Echelon vendetta – When his “company” friend is gruesomely slain in a sleepy Tuscan village and the dead man’s family later butchered in their London home, CIA “fixer” Micah Dalton takes action. Soon he is on the trail of an elusive fiend whose flair for ornamental blade-work suggests a link to American Indian mysticism. As the body count rises, the targets include active and inactive CIA agents and independent contractors–all with some connection to Echelon, an enigmatic…

bookcover (10).pngThe skorpion directive – In Vienna for a top-secret meeting with ex-Mossad agent Issadore Galan, Micah Dalton senses that something is very wrong on the streets of the Ring District. Dalton’s aggressive response to enemy surveillance makes him the target of a complex plot with the potential to shatter America’s strategic alliances with the rest of the civilized world.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.