fiction, Libraries, Read-alikes

Authors to read if you love Dan Brown

What to read next?

Dan Brown is best known for his riveting series featuring brilliant symbologist Robert Langdon, which have captivated readers for more than a decade. With dizzying conspiracies and stellar suspense, fans find it impossible to put down Brown’s books. If you’re looking for authors with a similar writing style, here is a list of recommended books. Publishers’ descriptions included below.

Click on book titles to view in our catalog, place holds, read reviews, and to determine location within the library. 


Douglas Preston

City of endless night – “”FOR GOD’S SAKE, TELL US WHAT’S HAPPENED!” “VENGEANCE. VENGEANCE IS WHAT’S HAPPENED.” It begins as a manhunt for Grace Ozmian, the missing daughter of a wealthy tech billionaire. At first, the NYPD assumes Grace, beautiful, reckless, and a regular feature of the local tabloids, has simply sped off on another wild adventure. But the case becomes something altogether different when the young woman’s body is discovered in an abandoned warehouse in…

Impact – CIA agent Wyman Ford is sent to Cambodia to locate the source of some radioactive gemstones–a mission that has links to a young woman’s search for a meteorite she saw streak through the sky in Maine, and the murder of a researcher at the National Propulsion Facility who discovered gamma rays originating from Mars.

The obsidian chamber –  With special agent Pendergast missing and presumed dead and his ward Constance taken captive by a shadowy figure from the past, Perdergast’s bodyguard, Proctor, begins an international pursuit of Constance’s kidnapper. “A tragic disappearance. After a harrowing otherwordly confrontation on the shores of Exmouth, Massachusetts, Special Agent A.X.L. Pendergast is missing, presumed dead. A shocking return. Sick with grief, Pendergast’s ward, Constance,…


Steve Berry

The 14th colony: a novel – “What happens if both the president and vice-president-elect die before taking the oath of office? The answer is far from certain–in fact, what follows would be nothing short of total political chaos. Shot down over Siberia, ex-Justice Department agent Cotton Malone is forced into a fight for survival against Aleksandr Zorin, a man whose loyalty to the former Soviet Union has festered for decades into an intense hatred of the United States. Before…

The Lincoln myth: a novel – September 1861: all is not as it seems. With these cryptic words, a shocking secret passed down from president to president comes to rest in Abraham Lincoln’s hands. And must make a fateful choice: save thousands of American lives or sacrifice the nation’s future. The present: in Utah, the remains of a nineteenth century mormon expedition that ended in murder have been uncovered. In Washington, D.C., the investigation of an international entrepreneur…

The Templar legacy: Cotton Malone Series, Book 1 – Ex-U.S. Justice Department agent Cotton Malone is intrigued when he sees a purse snatcher fling himself from a Copenhagen tower to avoid capture, slitting his own throat on the way down for good measure. Further snooping introduces him to the medieval religious order of the Knights Templar and the fervid subculture searching for the Great Devise, an ancient Templar archive that supposedly disproves the Resurrection and demolishes traditional Christian…


Ken Follett

The key to Rebecca – A Nazi agent possesses the secret that will open the doors of Cairo to Rommel’s advancing army. Only two people can stop him–a down-on-his-luck English officer and a beautiful Jewish girl who serves as bait.

The hammer of Eden: A Novel – The FBI doesn’t believe it. The Governor wants the problem to disappear. But agent Judy Maddox knows the threat is real: An extreme group of eco-terrorists has the means and the know-how to set off a massive earthquake of epic proportions. For California, time is running out. Now Maddox is scrambling to hunt down a petty criminal turned cult leader turned homicidal mastermind. Because she knows…

The pillars of the earth: The Pillars of the Earth Series, Book 1 – “Ken Follett is known worldwide as the master of split-second suspense, but his most beloved and bestselling book tells the magnificent tale of a twelfth-century monk driven to do the seemingly impossible: build the greatest Gothic cathedral the world has ever known. Everything readers expect from Follett is here: intrigue, fast-paced action, and passionate romance. But what makes The Pillars of the Earth extraordinary is the time?the twelfth century;…


Brad Meltzer

The millionaires – Two brothers. Three secret service agents. And millions for the taking. Charlie and Oliver Caruso are brothers who work at Greene and Greene, a private bank so exclusive there’s a $2 million minimum to be a client. But when the door of success slams in their faces, the brothers are presented with an offer they can’t refuse: $3 million in an abandoned account that can’t be traced. It’s the perfect victimless crime. Charlie and Oliver opt to take the…

The inner circle: The Culper Ring Series, Book 1 – A young archivist working in the National Archives and his childhood crush accidentally happen upon a priceless artifact–a 200-year-old dictionary that once belonged to George Washington–hidden inside a desk chair. Eager to discover why the President is hiding this important national treasure, the two soon find themselves entangled in a web of deception, conspiracy, and murder that will reveal the most well kept secret of the U.S. Presidency.

The book of lies – In 1932, Mitchell Siegel was killed by three gunshots to his chest. While mourning, his son dreamed of a bulletproof man and created the world’s greatest hero: Superman. And like Cain’s murder weapon, the gun used in this unsolved murder has never been found. Until now. Today in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Cal Harper comes face-to-face with his family’s greatest secret: his long-lost father, who’s been shot with a gun that traces back to Mitchell Siegel’s…


Robert Ludlum

The Bourne identity: Jason Bourne Series, Book 1 – His memory is a blank. His bullet-ridden body was fished from the Mediterranean Sea. His face has been altered by plastic surgery. A frame of microfilm has been surgically implanted in his hip. Even his name is a mystery. Marked for death, he is racing for survival through a bizarre world of murderous conspirators–led by Carlos, the world’s most dangerous assassin. Who is Jason Bourne?

The road to Omaha: A Novel – Robert Ludlum’s wayward hero, the outrageous General MacKenzie Hawkins, returns with a diabolical scheme to right a very old wrong–and wreak vengeance on the [redacted] who drummed him out of the military. Discovering a long-buried 1878 treaty with an obscure Indian tribe, the Hawk, a.k.a. Chief Thunder Head, hatches a brilliant plot that will ultimately bring him and his reluctant legal eagle, Sam Devereaux, before the Supreme Court. Their goal

Robert Ludlum’s The patriot attack – “An attack on a Japanese warship brings Japan and China to the brink of war. Meanwhile, top Covert-One operative Colonel Jon Smith is sent on a mission to recover mysterious material from the wreckage of the Fukushima nuclear reactor. When Smith fails to return, CIA agent Randi Russell heads off on an unsanctioned mission to find him. She quickly discovers that the missing samples may be evidence that Japan, led by hawkish military chief of staff…


James Rollins

The seventh plague: A Sigma Force Novel – Two years after vanishing into the Sudanese desert, the leader of a British archeological expedition, Professor Harold McCabe, comes stumbling out of the sands, frantic and delirious, but he dies before he can tell his story. The mystery deepens when an autopsy uncovers a bizarre corruption: someone had begun to mummify the professor’s body–while he was still alive. His strange remains are returned to London for further study, when alarming news…

Black order – A sinister fire in a Copenhagen bookstore ignites a relentless hunt across four continents. Arson and murder reveal an insidious plot to steal a Bible that once belonged to Charles Darwin. And Commander Gray Pierce dives headlong into a mystery that dates back to Nazi Germany…and to horrific experiments performed in a now-abandoned laboratory in Poland. A continent away, madness ravages a remote monastery in Nepal, as Buddhist monks turn to cannibalism…

Altar of Eden: a novel – Pregnant veterinarian Maura Kelly, along with U.S. Marshall Jack Menard, risks everything to unravel the mystery of a smuggler’s cache of mutated animals, a puzzle that involves fractal intelligence, stem cell research, and a secret history of the Book of Genesis


David Baldacci

Memory man: Amos Decker Series, Book 1 – “Amos Decker’s life changed forever–twice. The first time was on the gridiron. A big, towering athlete, he was the only person from his hometown of Burlington ever to go pro. But his career ended before it had a chance to begin. On his very first play, a violent helmet-to-helmet collision knocked him off the field for good, and left him with an improbable side effect–he can never forget anything. The second time was at home nearly two decades later….

No man’s land – “Two men. Thirty years. John Puller’s mother, Jackie, vanished thirty years ago from Fort Monroe, Virginia, when Puller was just a boy. Paul Rogers has been in prison for ten years. But twenty years before that, he was at Fort Monroe. One night three decades ago, Puller’s and Rogers’ worlds collided with devastating results, and the truth has been buried ever since. Until now. Military investigators, armed with a letter from a friend of Jackie’s,…

Split second – Two Secret Service agents, one of them retired, have each had similar experiences losing presidential candidates while assigned to protect them. As the two discredited agents enter a maze of lies, secrets, and deadly coincidences, they uncover a shocking truth: that the separate acts of violence that shattered their lives were really a long time in the making –and are a long way from over.


J. D. Robb

Naked in death: In Death Series, Book 1 – It is 2058, New York City. Technology now completely rules the world, but for New York Detective Eve Dallas, one irresistible impulse still rules the heart: passion…

The Lost – In J. D. Robb’s Missing in Death, when a female tourist’s disappearers during a ferry ride, Detective Eve Dallas wonders … if she didn’t jump, and she’s not on board, then where in the world is she? In Patricia Gaffney’s The Dog Days of Laurie Summer, a woman awakens to a familiar yet unsettling world. In Mary Blayney’s Lost in Paradise, a man locked in an island fortress finds hope for freedom in an enigmatic nurse. And Ruth Ryan Langan’s Legacy…

Big Jack – Lieutenant Eve Dallas attempts to track down the missing diamonds from a decades-old heist and stop the danger and death that have surrounded the jewels for years.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.