fiction, Libraries, Read-alikes

David Baldacci Read-alikes

Authors to read if you are a fan of

David Baldacci


Click on book titles to view in our catalog, place holds, read reviews, and to determine location within the library. 


Vince Flynn

Extreme measures: Mitch Rapp Series, Book 11 – The CIA has detected and intercepted two terrorist cells, but a third is feared to be on the loose. Led by a dangerous mastermind obsessed with becoming the leader of al-Qaeda, this determined and terrifying group is about to descend on America. Mitch Rapp needs the best on this assignment, and Nash, who has served his government honorably for sixteen years–first as an officer in the Marine Corps and then as an operative in an elite counterterrorism…

Term limits – In a night of shattering brutality, three of Washington’s most powerful politicians have been executed with surgical precision.

Memorial Day – Fearless counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp is called upon to fight against the world’s most deadly terrorists in this harrowing political thriller by New York Times bestselling author Vince Flynn. It’s just seven days before Memorial Day, and the nation’s capital is buzzing with last-minute preparations for the unveiling of the magnificent new memorial honoring the men and women who fought in World War II. Despite the hopeful energy of the city,…


Michael Connelly

The Lincoln lawyer: Mickey Haller Series, Book 1 – Jaded attorney Mickey Haller takes on his first high-paying and possibly innocent client in years, but finds the case complicated by an evil perpetrator.

The brass verdict: a novel – Things are finally looking up for defense attorney Mickey Haller. After two years of wrong turns, Haller is back in the courtroom. When Hollywood lawyer Jerry Vincent is murdered, Haller inherits his biggest case yet: the defense of Walter Elliott, a prominent studio executive accused of murdering his wife and her lover. But as Haller prepares for the case that could launch him into the big time, he learns that Vincent’s killer may be coming for him…

The black box: a novel – In a case that spans 20 years, Harry Bosch links the bullet from a recent crime to a file from 1992, the killing of a young female photographer during the L.A. riots. Harry originally investigated the murder, but it was then handed off to the Riot Crimes Task Force and never solved. Now Bosch’s ballistics match indicates that her death was not random violence, but something more personal, and connected to a deeper intrigue. Like an investigator combing…


Brad Thor

Spymaster: a thriller – Across Europe, a secret organization has begun attacking diplomats. Back in the United States, a foreign ally demands the identity of a highly placed covert asset. In the balance hang the ingredients for all-out war. With his mentor out of the game, counterterrorism operative Scot Harvath must take on the role he has spent his career avoiding. But, as with everything else he does, he intends to rewrite the rules–all of them.

Black list: a thriller – Counter-terrorism expert Scot Harvath’s name has been added to the Black List, a secret government hit list that only the president of the United States has final approval over. Now, with secret operatives on his trail and a mark on his head, Scot has to find out who framed him, and why, all while trying to stop the deadliest terrorist attack the United States has ever seen.

The Athena project: a thriller –  A group of female warriors from the nation’s most elite counter-terrorism unit– the United States Army’s 1st Special Forces Operational Detachment Delta–deploys on a dangerous international assignment. Their code name: Athena Project.


Brad Meltzer

The millionaires – Two brothers. Three secret service agents. And millions for the taking. Charlie and Oliver Caruso are brothers who work at Greene and Greene, a private bank so exclusive there’s a $2 million minimum to be a client. But when the door of success slams in their faces, the brothers are presented with an offer they can’t refuse: $3 million in an abandoned account that can’t be traced. It’s the perfect victimless crime. Charlie and Oliver opt to take the…

The inner circle: The Culper Ring Series, Book 1 – A young archivist working in the National Archives and his childhood crush accidentally happen upon a priceless artifact–a 200-year-old dictionary that once belonged to George Washington–hidden inside a desk chair. Eager to discover why the President is hiding this important national treasure, the two soon find themselves entangled in a web of deception, conspiracy, and murder that will reveal the most well kept secret of the U.S. Presidency.

The book of lies – In 1932, Mitchell Siegel was killed by three gunshots to his chest. While mourning, his son dreamed of a bulletproof man and created the world’s greatest hero: Superman. And like Cain’s murder weapon, the gun used in this unsolved murder has never been found. Until now. Today in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Cal Harper comes face-to-face with his family’s greatest secret: his long-lost father, who’s been shot with a gun that traces back to Mitchell Siegel’s…


Nelson DeMille

The Cuban affair: A Novel – “From the legendary #1 New York Times bestselling author of Plum Island and Night Fall, Nelson DeMille’s blistering new novel features an exciting new character–US Army combat veteran Daniel “Mac” MacCormick, now a charter boat captain, who is about to set sail on his most dangerous cruise. Daniel Graham MacCormick–Mac for short–seems to have a pretty good life. At age thirty-five he’s living in Key West, owner of a forty-two-foot charter fishing…

Plum Island: John Corey Series, Book 1 – New York detective John Corey, recovering from bullet wounds on an island, narrates his investigation into the murder of two scientists researching biological warfare. The two, a man and his wife, also appear to have been involved in a search for a pirate treasure. By the author of The Gold Coast.

The gold coast – Welcome to the fabled Gold Coast, that stretch on the North Shore of Long Island that once held the greatest concentration of wealth and power in America. Here two men are destined for an explosive collision: John Sutter, Wall Street lawyer, holding fast to a fading aristocratic legacy; and Frank Bellarosa, the Mafia don who seizes his piece of the staid and unprepared Gold Coast like a latter-day barbarian chief and draws Sutter and his regally beautiful…


Steve Martini

Double tap – Attorney Paul Madriani defends a soldier on trial for murder and unwittingly steps into a maze of secrets and lies that the government — and even his client — would rather leave undisturbed. Madriani is faced with arcane ballistics evidence, a so-called “double tap” — two bullet wounds tightly grouped to a victim’s head, shots that can only be made by a crack marksman. Madriani’s client is an enigma, a career soldier who refuses to talk about his…

The arraignment – Martini crafts yet another legal nail-biter featuring perennial favorite attorney Paul Madriani. After a lawyer friend is killed along with his client in a hail of gunfire outside the federal courthouse in San Diego, Madriani takes on another client who he believes is involved at the edges of the double murder. He takes the case not to defend the man, but to find out who killed his friend and why. Madriani is tortured by questions of conflict, his…

The rule of nine – After a career terrorist threatens to destroy the Supreme Court in a single horrible act, defense attorney Paul Madriani must put his life on the line in order to stop the sinister deed before it comes to fruition.


 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.